I didn’t get to Woodstock

party1969

‘All around me are familiar faces
Worn out places, worn out faces
Bright and early for their daily races
Going nowhere, going nowhere
Their tears are filling up their glasses
No expression, no expression
Hide my head I want to drown my sorrow
No tomorrow, no tomorrow’

–Roland Orzabal

A friend told me my postings were too anonymous, well this one ain’t. The things: The stereo, the wok, the solitaire on the bed are all real as well as I can remember. Even the drum kit was real; I still have the bongos.

Ok, so they really didn’t look like this, parties in 1969. But they felt like this. Call it a time-lapse picture, many parties superimposed. Everybody paired off at some time or other, but here they seem to be all paired off at the same time. Except me.

In spite of this I felt like I belonged to something, paired off as they were they were still my friends. But then it was over. We got jobs and made families; we sometimes lost them and sometimes got/made new ones. We didn’t drift apart we rowed there.

Remember I’m drawing –it’s what I still do now like I did then- in 2009 looking back at 1969. now I see it as the beginning of the end. It didn’t seem like then.

“And I find it kinda funny
I find it kinda sad”

Both the epigraph and the above quote are from the song “Mad World” by Roland Orzabal. It’s certainly not a song from back when. I looked for songs from then, songs that evoke the feelings of the time, anthems even, but the lyrics isolated from those songs, those parties and those times just seem stupid now. “Mad World” gets it better, the looking back part anyway.

 

