Fences

fences

Yes I know that putting in Celtic holidays is a little hokey. Get over it. It’s not like I’m some new age-y type or Celtic rennaissancer either. The feast dates mark the year at times of change that I take note of.

Imbolc (Groundhog’s day) is half way through the winter here. Beltane (Mayday) is the beginning of the warm half of the year. Lughnasadh (no obvious pop holiday but near the one birthday I take note of), therefore, the real middle of summer, and Saimhain (El Dia de los Muertos) is the end of it and the beginning of the cold half of the year.

 

Not that I celebrate these holidays, I don’t celebrate them any more than I celebrate the traditional ones around here; Turkey Day, X-mas, Super Bowl Sunday or  any other American, Christian or de facto holidays at all. I do take note of the Celtic ones voluntarily and do all I can to avoid the others.

 fences_inset

It was originally gonna say dog, stars, geese, and kitty (see inset.) The seasons were not in the original plan. I just got the pencil scanned and into Photoshop and started playing. Naming the midpoints of the seasons came while I was trying to figure out which season matched best with each quarter of the thing. The gradient colors, the cross motif and the knotting of the letters all just  kinda happened.

 

The seasons cycle clock (sun) wise, but the times of day don’t. I couldn’t get that to work so they are in there in a top left, bottom right, bottom left, top right configuration; an hour glass – clever, eh?

 

Deeper meanings?  Not really, the drawings are just confabulations of what I see out my kitchen window and naked women. I like to draw pictures of naked women. There is no fence (or naked women) in my back yard so maybe there is something psycho- pathological about that.

